Imprint | Sitemap



 

Everything about Horseradish

Botanical classification
Horseradish is classified under the Latin name "Armoracia rusticana". It is a hardy shrub, which belongs to the cruciferous plant family.

History
Horseradish is native to south-eastern Europe and Asia. In Germany, it is known since the 15th century. Its German name "Meerrettich" is misleading and probably occurred due to a spelling mistake, because in old German, a horse is called "Mähre".

Cultivation Areas
For decades, German farmers haven’t been producing sufficient quantities of horseradish to meet the demands of the food industry. Hungary has emerged as one of the main cultivation areas in Europe besides Austria and Poland.

Cultivation
Well-manured, not too heavy and loamy soil with sufficient water supply is most suitable for its cultivation. In spring, the root seedlings (so-called Fechser) are planted. These are approximately 0.5 to 1.5 cm thick root side shoots, which were removed from the main root during the harvest in autumn and are cut to a length of about 30 cm.

From mid-April to mid-May, the shoots are placed in furrows of 10 cm depth at intervals of 60 to 80 cm, then are lightly covered with soil.

Care
The horseradish roots still require a lot of manual work. Approximately 4 to 6 weeks after planting the seedlings, all side shoots are removed from the main root. This prevents the growth of "multi-headed" roots, since the industry demands mainly "one-headed" ones.

To grow smooth roots without insertions, the tubers are uncovered at the beginning of July and side shoots are cut away. Afterwards the stems are once again covered with soil. Depending on the rainfall, the soil has to be loosened several times to prevent encrustation and weed growth. Today, manuring consists mainly of mineral fertiliser, sometimes combined with animal dung.

Harvest
The main harvest begins in mid-October. Since the horseradish is frost-resistant, it can stay in the soil till spring. The lifting of the roots is carried out with special ploughs.

Health aspects
For hundreds of years, the horseradish has been in high esteem as a remedy as well as a spice. It contains double as much vitamin C (114 mg per 100 g) as lemon and physiologically important minerals and trace elements. Its hot taste is due to the essential oils. The substances allicin and sinigrin have antibiotic effects. Horseradish is therefore also called "German penicillin" and used as medicine, e.g. for colds and intestinal infections.

The appetising effect of horseradish is widely known.

Trace Elements, Minerals and Vitamins (in in 100 g Horseradish):
Sodium 9,00 mg
Iron 1,40 mg
Potassium 554,00 mg
Phosphorus 65,30 mg
Magnesium 33,00 mg
Calcium 105,00 mg
Vitamin B1 0,14 mg
Vitamin C 114,00 mg

Impressum | Sitemap




 

 

 

 

Kleines Meerrettich 1x1

Botanische Einordnung
Meerrettich wird unter dem lateinischen Namen "armoracia rusticana" geführt und ist eine winterstabile Wurzelstaude, die zur Familie der Kreuzblütler (lat. Cruciferae) gehört.

Geschichte
Meerrettich stammt aus Süd-Osteuropa und Asien. In Deutschland ist er seit dem 15. Jh. bekannt. Der Name leitet sich von Mähre (=Pferd) her und müßte Pferderettich lauten; der englische Name "Horse-radish" trifft diesen Sachverhalt genauer.

Anbaugebiete
Die Rohwarenmengen der deutschen Erzeuger sind schon seit Jahrzehnten nicht mehr ausreichend, um den Bedarf der speziell verarbeitenden Nahrungsmittelindustrie zu decken. Diesbezüglich hat sich Ungarn neben Österreich und Polen als Hauptanbaugebiet in Europa entwickelt.

Anbau
Für den Anbau eignen sich am Besten tiefgründige, mittelschwere und lehmige Böden mit gutem Wasserangebot. Die Anpflanzung erfolgt im Frühjahr durch Setzlinge (auch sog. "Fechser"). Bei den Setzlingen handelt es sich um ca. 0,5 bis 1,5 cm starke Seitenwurzeln, die bei der Ernte im Herbst von der Hauptwurzel abgetrennt und auf ca. 30 cm Länge zugeschnitten werden.

Etwa Mitte April bis Mitte Mai werden die bearbeiteten Setzlinge auf den Feldern in ca. 10 cm tiefe Furchen, in einem Abstand von 60 bis 80 cm gelegt und mit Erde bedeckt.

Pflege
Die Pflege der Meerrettichwurzeln erfordert immer noch sehr viel Handarbeit. Etwa 4 - 6 Wochen nach dem Legen der Setzlinge werden sämtliche Kopftriebe von der Hauptwurzel entfernt. Dadurch wachsen keine "mehrköpfigen" Stangen, denn die Industrie verlangt vorwiegend "einköpfige".

Um möglichst glatte Stangen ohne Wurzelansätze zu erhalten, werden die Wurzeln ab ca. Anfang Juli freigelegt und die Seitentriebe mit dem Messer entfernt. Anschließend werden die Wurzeln wieder mit Erde bedeckt. Je nach Niederschlag muss der Boden mehrmals aufgelockert werden, um seine Verkrustung und Unkrautbildung zu vermeiden. Zur Düngung des Bodens wird heute Mineraldünger, in einigen Fällen kombiniert mit Stallmist, eingesetzt.

Ernte
Die Haupternte beginnt etwa Mitte Oktober. Da der Meerrettich froststabil ist, kann er bis zum Frühjahr im Boden belassen werden. Das Ausgraben der Wurzeln erfolgt mit speziellen Pflügen.

Gesundheitliche Aspekte
Seit Jahrhunderten wird Meerrettich als Heil- und Würzmittel geschätzt. Er besitzt doppelt soviel Vitamin C (114 mg pro 100 g) wie die Zitrone. Ferner enthält er physiologisch wichtige Mineralstoffe und Spurenelemente. Sein scharfer Geschmack ist auf die ätherischen Öle zurückzuführen. Die im Meerrettich enthaltenen Substanzen Allicin und Sinigrin haben eine antibiotische Wirkung. Meerrettich wird deshalb auch als das "deutsche Penicillin" bezeichnet und in der Heilkunde eingesetzt, z.B. bei Erkältungen und Darminfektionen.

Die Appetit anregende Wirkung von Meerrettich ist allgemein bekannt.

Rezepte
Finden Sie unter: Rezepte

Spurenelemente, Mineralstoffe und Vitamine (á 100 g Meerrettich):
Natrium 9,00 mg
Eisen 1,40 mg
Kalium 554,00 mg
Phosphor 65,30 mg
Magnesium 33,00 mg
Calcium 105,00 mg
Vitamin B1 0,14 mg
Vitamin C 114,00 mg